Who We Are

Bartholomew County Rural Electric Membership Corporation is an electric cooperative located in Columbus,  Indiana. Founded in 1937, this REMC was formed to serve mostly the rural areas of Bartholomew County. The first lines served 121 homes in German and Flatrock townships. Today, Bartholomew County REMC serves customers in all townships of Bartholomew County and some of the areas in the adjoining counties. With a broad base of residential, commercial, and industrial customers, Bartholomew County REMC is very competitive in service and rates. We are a member-owned utility.

General Information



  • Office Hours: 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. EST Monday to Friday
  • Operations/ Crew Hours:  7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. EST Monday to Friday
  • Mailing Address: PO Box 467 Columbus, IN 47202
  • Directions to office

System Information

  • Counties Served: Bartholomew and parts of Jennings (Geneva Township), Decatur and Jackson
  • Newsletter: Indiana Connection
  • Members Served: 10,240
  • Meters Served: 11,925
  • Miles of lines energized: 1,235
  • Power Supplier: Hoosier Energy

Employee Information

  • Employees: 35

Courtney Metzger

Chief Executive Officer

Matt Hackman

Vice President of Strategy and CFO

Marty Lasure

Vice President of Communications & Member Services

Colton Carden

Director of Engineering and Technology

Shawn Tucker

Line Superintendent

Lisa Dyer

Human Resources Manager and Board Relations

Kathryn Joyner

Member Services Supervisor

Board of Directors

Curt Burbrink


Dr. John Harker

Vice President

Janet Anthony


Dan Fleming


Ron Arnholt

Brett Glick

Larry Hoeltke

Our Mission

To enrich the well-being of our membership and community.

Our Vision

Achieve the highest level of electric cooperative standards across the country.
Measured by satisfaction, safety, reliability & cost.